女性賦權

薩瑪崗女性的經期健康管理(MHM)及衛生保健

 

背景

 

薩瑪崗的氣溫在冬天會降至零下20攝氏度。寒冷的氣候與缺乏習慣養成,解釋了社區成員為何不會定期洗澡、洗手或清洗私處;這也會導致婦女因常見的尿路感染而死亡。

此外,在2015年地震和非政府救援組織提供「經期管理」材料之前,大多數女性沒有衛生巾使用,而只能任血液流出或使用破舊的衣服來應對經期。

TCN於2019年2月開始開展經期健康管理工作,並與國際非政府組織「尼泊爾女童日」合作,為薩瑪崗的10名女性與10名男性領導舉辦了為期兩天的關於月經、衛生保健和領導力的工作坊。

 

 

目標

 

MHM和衛生保健項目旨在為婦女提供確保自己和子女更好的衛生保健,以及更好地管理經期的手段。它還旨在通過在社區發起關於女性健康的對話來減少性別不平衡的問題。

宣傳課程&衛生巾生產單位
 

我們向社區提供關於女性健康、衛生保健及領導力的宣傳課程,教育她們的同齡人清洗雙手及私處。該項目還讓參加者有機會以低價購買到由國際非政府組織「尼泊爾女童日」製作的、可重複使用的衛生巾;而最終目的是鼓勵婦女在當地建立生產衛生巾的單位、銷售給社區。

該項目將於2020和2021年繼續進行,屆時將對培訓師進行第二次培訓,並對薩瑪崗建立一間衛生巾生產單位的可行性進行評估。

 

為薩瑪崗婦女提供英語、尼泊爾語和數學的基礎文化教育

 


背景
 

傳統上,婦女在薩瑪崗社會受到嚴重歧視,被認為不如男子。大多數女孩被迫早婚、期待她們為丈夫服務,而且無論已婚還是未婚,往往是家庭暴力的受害者;在所有社會領域中(政治、商業或宗教)的領導角色都是男性。近年來,外遷與氣候變化給她們的工作量帶來了毀滅性的影響,每天工作時間是14至19小時。

 

目標

 

基礎文化項目旨在為婦女提供英語、尼泊爾語和數學的基本讀寫認知課程;這些課程將圍繞著她們的主要興趣,即客棧管理展開。它的目的在於讓婦女獲得更多工具,從家庭和社區獲得更多的尊重與認可 ,從而賦予她們成為企業家的自主權力,並在社區中擔任更多的領導職位。

 

 

教學課程大綱

 

課程大綱根據薩瑪崗婦女的興趣量身定制,旨在讓她們有機會以一種非正式、實用,以及以遊戲為基礎的方式學習,為期12個月,每天1小時45分鐘,每週6天。由一名尼泊爾老師和一名來自薩瑪崗的、講藏文的老師授課;第一個月以客棧管理為中心,第二個月處理婦女的健康與衛生保健問題;然後在這一年中,老師們將利用女性在課堂上的經驗和興趣來開展進一步的主題與活動。

WOMEN EMPOWERMENT

MENSTRUAL HEALTH MANAGEMENT (MHM) AND HYGIENE FOR THE WOMEN OF SAMAGAUN

 

BACKGROUND

 

Samagaun’s temperature goes down to minus 20 degrees Celsius in the winter, and the cold climate and lack of habit explain that members of the community do not wash their bodies, hands, or private parts on a regular basis. This still leads to fatalities among women due to common urinary tract infections.

Moreover, until the 2015 earthquake and provision of menstruations management material by relief NGOs, most women did not use pads, and free bled or used ragged clothes to manage their periods.

 

The TCN started to work on Menstrual Health Management in February 2019, and partnering with INGO Days for Girls Nepal, TCN organized a 2-day workshop for 10 women and 10 men leaders of Samagaun on menstruations, hygiene, and leadership.

 

 

OBJECTIVES

 

The MhM and hygiene project aims at giving women the means to ensure better hygiene for themselves and their children as well as to better manage their menstruations. It also aims at reducing the gender imbalance by initiating a conversation in the community about women’s health.

 

 

AWARENESS SESSIONS & PAD PRODUCTION UNIT

 

We provide awareness sessions to the community about women’s health, hygiene, and leadership in educating their peers to wash their hands and private parts. The project also provides attendees the opportunity to buy reusable sanitary cloth pads at a cheap price and made by INGO Days For Girls Nepal and eventually aim at encouraging the women to set up a local pad production unit to sell to the community. 

The project is set to continue in 2020 and 2021 with the second training of trainers and assessment of the feasibility of setting up a pad production unit in Samagaun.

 

 

BASIC-LITERACY EDUCATION IN ENGLISH, NEPALI, AND MATHS FOR WOMEN OF SAMAGAUN

 

BACKGROUND

 

Women are traditionally very discriminated against in the Samagaun society and considered less than men. Most girls are forced into early marriage, expected to serve their husbands, and very often victims of domestic violence whether married or unmarried; leadership roles in all realms of society (political, business, or religious) are reserved to men. In recent years, outmigration and climate change have had devastating impacts on their workloads bringing workdays from 14-19 hours a day.

 

 

OBJECTIVES

 

The basic literacy project is designed to provide women with basic literacy classes in English, Nepali and Maths centered around their main interest: guesthouse management. It aims at giving women the tools to gain more respect and recognition from their families and communities, this way empowering them to become entrepreneurs in their own rights and take on more leadership positions in the community.

 

 

TEACHING CURRICULUM

 

The curriculum is tailored to suit the Samagaun women’s interests and aims at giving them the opportunity to learn in a non-formal, practical, and play-based way over the course of 12 months, 1h45mns a day, 6 days a week. Taught by a Nepali teacher and a Tibetan speaking teacher from Samagaun it centers around guesthouse management during the first month and then tackles women’s health and hygiene during the second month. The teachers will then build upon women’s inside-the-classroom-experience and interests to develop further themes and activities to teach during the year.