關於我們

背景

尼泊爾是世界上最貧窮和最不發達的國家之一。大約三分之一人口每天的生活費不足50美分。該國約41%的5歲以下兒童發育不良。死亡率很高,特別是偏遠山村,人們死於常見疾病。尼泊爾有一半的兒童都營養不良。

偏遠喜馬拉雅村莊的生活更加艱苦,生存問題也愈加不可確定。由於沒有衛生設施、潔淨水、電力、通訊、醫療保健或教育,死亡率很高,也幾乎無人識字。

 

努日山谷,尼泊爾北部一個藏族聚居地,是一個沒有交通工具通行的偏遠地區。要到達這個山谷,要麼在山區徒步6天;要麼租一架當地人根本無法負擔的直升機。進入該村的不易意味著運送貨物和供應品來這裡不僅複雜,而且極其昂貴。

 

此外,在過去的15年裡,努日社區不得不面對日益嚴重的雙重威脅:全球化和氣候改變。

 

為了尋求經濟機會或較好的教育,大量男性和兒童向外移民。這使得大多數村莊有一半以上都是空的;在某些情況下,75%的男性人口居住在努日山谷之外,留下婦女承擔著以前由男性承擔的家務,每天工作14至19小時。

 

此外,根據最近的研究評估,氣候改變的發生速度比世界其它地區快2至3倍,這導致了更多不規律的天氣模式;當地村民努力使農業和糧食生產系統適應這些變化,但都未能應對氣溫變化的迅速和劇烈,使得社區糧食安全狀況混亂、女性的工作再次負擔過量。

為應對這些挑戰,在詠給·明就仁波切的加持和指導下,尼泊爾德噶慈善機構於2018年6月成立。我們是一個非營利組織(非政府組織),致力於教育、健康、環境和社會服務領域,以增強偏遠山區社群的能力,並使其具備技能以提高抗災、可持續發展和社會福祉。

孩子是世界上最寶貴的資源也是未來最佳的希望。

 

約翰·F·肯尼迪

關於創辦人;
詠給·明就仁波切

詠給·明就仁波切擁有一種罕見的能力,即以一種清新、有趣的方式展現西藏古老的智慧。他深刻且平易近人的教導與幽默感,深受世界各地學生的喜愛。最為獨特的是,仁波切的教導將他的個人經歷與現代科學研究交融在一起,兩者都與禪修密切相關。

詠給·明就仁波切於1975年出生在西藏和尼泊爾之間的喜馬拉雅邊境地區,是一位深受愛戴、成就卓著的禪修大師。從很小的時候起,仁波切就被這種沉思的生活所深深吸引。他童年時代的多數時間都在嚴格的閉關中度過。十七歲時,他受邀到寺院做三年閉關中心的導師,這樣的位置鮮少由如此年輕的喇嘛擔任。在印度北部自己的寺院建立佛學院之前,他也完成了佛教哲學和心理學的傳統訓練。

Yongey%20Mingyur%20Rinpoche_edited.jpg

除了廣泛接受藏傳佛教禪修和哲學傳統訓練外,明就仁波切還對西方科學和心理學產生了長久的興趣。在很小的時候,他就開始與著名的神經學家弗朗西斯科·瓦雷拉進行一系列非正式的討論。瓦雷拉當時來到尼泊爾,向仁波切的父親祖古·烏金仁波切學習禪修。許多年以後,2002年,明就仁波切和其他幾位長期禪修者受邀到威斯康辛-麥迪遜大學的威斯曼大腦成像與行為實驗室,理查德·戴維森、安東尼·魯茨和其他科學家調查研究了禪修對這些資深禪修者大腦產生的影響。這項開創性研究的結果刊登在許多世界上閱讀最廣泛的出版物上,包括《國家地理》與《時代》雜誌。

明就仁波切在世界各地授課,禪修中心遍及五大洲。他對自己的困難坦誠而又幽默的描述,使他受到了世界各地成千上萬學生的喜愛。他的暢銷書《世界上最快樂的人》首次推出就登上《紐約時報》暢銷書排行榜,並被翻譯成20多種語言。他的最新著作包括《帶自己回家:藏傳佛法前行修持指導》、《你是幸運的》以及一本名為《小吉寶貝》的兒童插畫書。

2011年6月初,明就仁波切走出他位於印度菩提迦耶的寺院,開始了為期四年半的「遊方閉關」,穿越喜馬拉雅山區和印度平原。當仁波切不必照顧印度和尼泊爾的座下寺院時,他每年都會花時間在世界各地旅行與教學。

 

點擊這裡查閱詠給·明就仁波切的詳細生平。

About Us

BACKGROUND

Nepal is among the poorest and least developed countries in the world. Around a third of the population lives on less than 50 cents per day. About 41% of the country’s children under the age of five are stunted. Mortality rates are high, especially in remote mountain villages where people die of common diseases. Half the children in Nepal are malnourished.

 

Life in remote Himalayan villages is harsher and survival is even more uncertain. With no access to sanitation, clean water, electricity, communications, healthcare, or education, mortality rates are high and literacy almost unknown.

 

Nubri Valley, a Tibetan enclave in Northern Nepal, is an isolated area with no road access for vehicles. This valley can be reached either by trekking for 6 days through the mountainous terrain, or by chartering a helicopter, which the local people cannot afford. The difficulty in accessing the village means that bringing goods and supplies is not only complicated but extremely expensive.

 

Moreover, over the last 15 years, the communities of Nubri have had to face a mounting double threat: globalization, and climate change.

 

The valley has seen an outpouring of male and children outmigration in search of economic opportunity or of a better education. This has left most of the villages more than half empty, with, in some cases, 75% of the male population residing outside the Nubri valley, and women burdened with household chores previously performed by men, and 14-19 hours workdays.

 

In addition, climate change, which has been assessed by recent research to happen 2-3 times faster than in other regions of the world, has led to more irregular weather patterns; the local villagers' efforts to adapt the agricultural and food production system to these changes has not been able to cope with the rapidity and magnitude of the temperature changes, leaving the communities’ food security situation in haphazard, and the women again overly burdened with work.

To respond to these challenges, Tergar Charity Nepal was established under the blessings and guidance of Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche in June 2018. We are a not-for-profit organization (NGO), working in education, health, environment, and social services to empower and equip remote mountain communities with skills for better resilience, sustainable development, and social wellbeing. 

"Children are the world's most valuable resource

and its best Hope for the future."

 

JOHN F. KENNEDY

About Our Fouder;

YONGEY MINGYUR RINPOCHE

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche possesses a rare ability to present the

ancient wisdom of Tibet in a fresh, engaging manner. His profound yet accessible teachings and playful sense of humor have endeared him to students around the world. Most uniquely, Rinpoche’s teachings weave together his own personal experiences with modern scientific research, relating both to the
practice of meditation.

Born in 1975 in the Himalayan border regions between Tibet and
Nepal, Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche is a much-loved and accomplished meditation master. From a young age, Rinpoche was drawn to a life of contemplation. He spent many years of his childhood in a strict retreat. At the age of seventeen, he was invited to be a teacher at his monastery’s three-year retreat center, a position rarely held by such a young lama. He also completed the traditional Buddhist training in philosophy and psychology, before founding a monastic college at his home monastery in north India.

Yongey%20Mingyur%20Rinpoche_edited.jpg

In addition to extensive training in the meditative and philosophical traditions of Tibetan Buddhism, Mingyur Rinpoche has also had a lifelong interest in Western science and psychology. At an early age, he began a series of informal discussions with the famed neuroscientist Francisco Varela, who came to Nepal to learn meditation from his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche. Many years later, in 2002, Mingyur Rinpoche and a handful of other long-term meditators were invited to the Waisman Laboratory for Brain Imaging and Behavior at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where Richard Davidson, Antoine Lutz, and other scientists examined the effects of meditation on the brains of advanced meditators. The results of this groundbreaking research were reported in many of the world’s most widely read publications, including National Geographic and Time.

Mingyur Rinpoche teaches throughout the world, with centers on five continents. His candid, often humorous accounts of his own personal difficulties have endeared him to thousands of students around the world. His best-selling book, The Joy of Living: Unlocking the Secret and Science of Happiness, debuted on the New York Times bestseller list and has been translated into over twenty languages. Rinpoche’s most recent books are Turning Confusion into Clarity: A Guide to the Foundation Practices of Tibetan Buddhism, Joyful Wisdom: Embracing Change and Finding Freedom, and an illustrated children’s book entitled Ziji: The Puppy that Learned to Meditate.

In early June 2011, Mingyur Rinpoche walked out of his monastery in Bodhgaya, India, and began a “wandering retreat” through the Himalayas and the plains of India that lasted four and a half years. When not attending to the monasteries under his care in India and Nepal, Rinpoche spends time each year traveling and teaching worldwide.

 

Click Here for the Detailed Biography of Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche.