普羅幼稚園

目的

普羅克幼稚園項目的目的是為普羅克偏遠村莊的早期兒童教育奠定基礎。這個幼稚園在一個臨時教室裡容納了超過12個3至6歲的孩子。通過這個幼稚園,孩子和他們的家庭因食物、照顧和進步的教育方法而得到支持。此外,目的還包括保持與維護獨特的西藏文化與佛教。

我們在改造與設立這個幼稚園的重點,是要為孩子在童年早期提供一個積極、滋養、和啟發的環境。這有助於建立一個堅實的基礎,並將使他們終生受益。如果孩子們在成長過程中遇到一個積極和鼓勵的環境,他們自然會獲得自信與自尊。在這個階段,養成上學的習慣、激發孩子天然的好奇心,會大大增加他們獲得全面教育的機會。幼稚園的運營時間是上午9點至下午5點,所以父母可以選擇兒童照顧支持,特別是在繁忙的農耕季節。
 

該項目的目標是實施蒙特梭利教育的兒童早教課程。此課程將蒙特梭利的教育方法,與努日古老遺產的藏傳佛教之文化傳統相結合,是為努日定制的、專門的幼兒教育課程。

 

關於普羅克村

普羅克是努日山谷的一個小村莊,海拔2400米。有82戶人家,總人口352人。村莊的東側被壯美、白雪覆蓋的斯林吉山環繞,西側和南側是郁郁蔥蔥的綠色森林,北側是兩個美麗的相鄰村莊。這個村莊很漂亮,但非常偏遠,因為它遠離該地區主要的徒步路線,人們沒有收入來源,因此它是努日所有村莊中最貧困的一個。幾乎每個人都是自給自足的農民,這意味著他們完全依賴自己所獲得的收成。要到達普羅克,必須坐一天的公共汽車,然後根據所帶貨物再進行四、五天的步行。

 

背景

學校最初的校舍建於1969年,當時只有一名政府任命的教師。與山村的每所學校一樣,普羅克學校也因監管不當、教師出勤不規律、環境缺乏管理等原因,無法提供有質量的教育。正因為如此,大多數人開始把孩子送到首都、去加德滿都上學或者接受僧侶教育。

由於了解兒童教育的必要性和重要性,村裡極少數有學識的年輕人開始尋求可能的幫助,在此期間,他們幸運地與尊貴的詠給·明就仁波切取得了聯繫。在羅克帕國際的慷慨支持下,我們得以將舊校舍改造成適合兒童使用的新教室、從加德滿都帶來必要的教育材料、提供健康的食物;最重要的是,有了敬業和訓練有素的教師。幼稚園於2019年10月正式開園。

資助一個孩子

資助一個孩子的費用是每年1200美元或每月100美元。

如果完全資助一個孩子的負擔過大,您仍然可以通過與一些朋友、同事、父母或社區團體組隊一起資助。那樣的話,您可以每月貢獻50美元,即等於每年600美元。

PROK KINDERGARTEN

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Prok Ngondroey Lopta (Prok Kindergarten) project is to lay a foundation for early childhood education in the remote village of Prok. The kindergarten caters to more than 12 children age 3 to 6 in a single temporary classroom. Through this kindergarten young children and their families are supported by offering food, care, and a progressive approach to education. In addition, the aim is to preserve and conserve the unique Tibetan culture and Buddhism.

Our focus in renovating and setting up this kindergarten is to provide children with a positive, nurturing, and stimulating environment in their early years. This helps to build a strong foundation, which will benefit them throughout their lives. If in their formative years' children encounter a positive and encouraging environment, they naturally gain self-confidence and self-esteem. Developing the habit of school-going and stimulating a child’s natural curiosity at this stage greatly increases their chances of gaining a full education. The kindergarten operates from 9 am to 5 pm so parents have the option for child care support, particularly during the busy farming seasons.

The aim of this project is to implement an early childhood curriculum, which integrates the Montessori educational method with the culture and tradition of Tibetan Buddhism which is Nubri’s ancient heritage. The curriculum implemented in this project uses the principles of Montessori Education that are integrated with Tibetan Buddhism and culture customize an early childhood curriculum specifically for Nubri.

Our teachers receives training from Upper Tibetan Childrens' Village school in Dharamshala, India and in Kathmandu. The teacher trainees receive a practical understanding of early childhood education based on Buddhism, the Montessori methodology, and the cultural heritage of the High Himalayas. These trainees are also introduced to the fundamental and philosophical basis of early childhood education; curriculum and lesson planning; artistic activities such as drawing, painting, puppets and dolls, and crafts; practical techniques such as circles, games, stories, puppetry, fingerplays, and songs; early childhood education theory; child development; how children learn from birth to age 7; integrating Nepali mainstream curriculum with the Montessori curriculum. In addition, these trainees receive a foundation in Buddhist studies (meditation, Buddhist basic philosophical concepts and worldview, and Buddhist values) from Khenpos and other philosophy teachers linked with Tergar Osel-Ling Monastery in Kathmandu.

 

ABOUT PROK VILLAGE

Prok is a small village in Nubri valley with an altitude of 2,400m. There are 82 households with 352 population in total. The village is surrounded by beautiful snow-capped Sringi mountain on the eastern side, lush green forest in the western & southern side, and two beautiful neighboring villages on the Northern side. The village is beautiful but very remote and since it's off, the region’s main trekking route the people have no source of income thus, making it one of the poorest villages in all of Nubri. Almost everyone is a subsistence farmer which means they are completely dependent on the harvest they get. To reach Prok, one must travel a day by bus and then four/ five days walk depending upon the load one carries.

 

BACKGROUND

The original school building was established in 1969 with one government-appointed teacher. Like every school in the mountains, Prok's too failed to provide quality education due to improper supervision, irregular teacher attendance, unmanaged environment, and so on. Because of these, most people started sending their children to the capital; Kathmandu for schooling or to get ordained for monastic education. 

Understanding the need and importance of early childhood education, few learned youngsters from the village started seeking possible help and during which fortunately got in contact with His Eminence Yongi Mingyur Rinpoche. Under the generous support from Rokpa Tsokpa, we have been able to renovate and turn the old school building into a new child-friendly classroom, bring necessary education materials from Kathmandu, provide healthy food, and most importantly, dedicated & well-trained teachers. The kindergarten officially started in October of 2019.

SPONSOR A CHILD

The cost to sponsor a child is US$ 1,200/ Year or $100/ Month.

If a full child sponsorship is too much, you can still help through a partial sponsorship by teaming up with some friends, colleagues, parents, or a community group. In such a case, you will be contributing US$50/ month = $600/ year each.