農業生態與環境


教薩瑪崗婦女在氣候寒冷時在溫室裡種植蔬菜

背景

薩瑪崗村莊,代表著一個藏族血統的、傳統喜馬拉雅農牧社區。該地區惡劣的氣候(冬天氣溫低至零下20攝氏度)使得每年4月至8月間只能種植三種作物(小麥、青稞和土豆)。因此,該社區面臨著食品不安全的問題,並依賴其他村莊以高價購買蔬菜和基本用品。

在過去的20年裡,全球化和氣候變化對這個社區造成了嚴重的影響。今天,為了尋求經濟機會和更好的教育,大量的男性和兒童從農村外遷。外遷現象使傳統的生計體系幾近消失,對留守在農村的婦女造成了沉重的打擊;她們不僅要承擔日常家務,還要掙錢謀生。由於在外工作的男人寄回的匯款,頭6個月就會用完,婦女被迫要每週工作7天,每天工作14至19個小時,收入微少或沒有額外收入。家庭收入的減少進一步使得老年人和婦女難以生存。

最近,新冠肺炎疫情的影響以及為控制病毒傳播而實施的長期封鎖和路障,使那些本已容易受到氣候等多重風險影響、面臨嚴重糧食短缺和收入不穩定的人失去了謀生的希望。

目標

該項目將實施一種創新的、經過驗證的溫室種植技術,在薩瑪崗嚴寒的氣候條件下種植蔬菜。該技術使用的是聚屋隧道耕作,在類似氣候條件下的洪拉地區(尼泊爾西北部)已經發現了它的有用性。該項目打算動員當地婦女團體,根據她們對種植蔬菜的興趣和承諾、選出10名婦女。這個婦女小組將接受培訓:關於蔬菜種植技術、溫室維修、向直接參與項目的家庭分發蔬菜和將剩餘的賣給附近市場。婦女將接受關於兒童和孕產健康、衛生保健和營養的教育,還將學習鑒於食物營養價值的烹飪技術。婦女小組將進一步接受蔬菜加工和在薩瑪崗村莊當地市場銷售多餘蔬菜的培訓,以賺取一些現金收入,從而提升她們的經濟能力。

把受益家庭組織成母親團體,將接受關於兒童和孕產健康、衛生保健和營養方面的教育,並將得到支持,以維持兒童和婦女的健康和衛生。

寒冷氣候時在溫室中的蔬菜種植

提議的溫室模型是由非政府組織R.I.D.S為寒冷天氣而設計的,並在具有相似氣候條件下的洪拉地區進行了測試。這一模型曾在上世紀90年代被引入洪拉,並被整個地區的村民廣泛效仿。溫室面積4米寬*6米長,80%由當地材料建造,由45釐米厚的石墻,和支撐屋頂的木樑組成。洪拉模型採用200微米聚丙烯塑料作為屋面材料。研究人員在屋面材料方面提出了一項創新 - 用聚碳酸酯波紋塑料板代替聚丙烯;這種材料具有提供最佳隔熱效果、以控制熱量損失和增加耐久性的優點。聚碳酸酯波紋塑料板安裝在40度斜面、面向太陽,可以在冬季防止積雪,讓最大限度的陽光進入溫室。

溫室設計的創新和材料的選擇,對保證溫室的效率和效果起到重要的作用。泥砌體石墻不僅支撐著溫室的結構,還提供了隔熱效果。聚碳酸酯板和泥砌石墻在夜晚和寒冷季節能保持室內溫暖,同時在室外炎熱時為溫室降溫。該技術的使用將主要生長期從4個月延長到7個月。安裝好的木門和百葉窗在晚上可以保持溫暖,鐵絲網門窗在白天保持溫室內的空氣流通。如果溫室建在房子後面,共用房子的墻壁,可以節省建築成本和時間,並增強了房子的供暖。

AGROECOLOGY & ENVIRONMENT

VEGETABLE GARDENING IN COLD CLIMATE GREENHOUSES FOR WOMEN OF SAMAGAUN

 

 

BACKGROUND

 

The Samagaun village represents a traditionally Himalayan agro-pastoral community of Tibetan descent. The harsh climate of the region (the temperature goes down as low as -20 degrees Celsius in the winter) entails that only three crops (wheat, barley and potato) can grow once a year between April to August.  As a result, the community faces the problem of food insecurity and depends on other villages to buy vegetables and basic supplies at a high price.

 

Over the last 20 years, globalization and climate change have critically impacted the community, which is witnessing today a massive male and children outmigration from the village in search of economic opportunity and better education. The phenomenon of outmigration has brought the traditional livelihood system almost to the verge of disappearance, hitting the women hard, who are left behind in the village and burdened to perform the usual household chores as well as to earn to make livelihood. As remittances sent by the men working abroad is used within the first 6 months, the women are forced to work from 14 to 19 hours a day and 7 day a week with little or no extra income. Shrunken family income has further pushed the elderly and the women far below the line of existing vulnerability.

 

Most recently, the impacts of Covid-19 pandemic and prolonged lockdown and roadblocks imposed to control the spread of the virus, has stripped off the hopes of livelihood of those who were already vulnerable to multiple risks including climate and facing acute food shortages and income insecurity.

 

 

OBJECTIVES

 

The project will implement an innovative and proven technology of greenhouse farming to produce vegetables under the harsh cold climatic conditions of Samagaun. The technology uses poly-house tunnel farming, which has been found useful in Humla district (North West Nepal) under similar climatic conditions. The project intends to mobilize the local women group for which 10 women will be selected based on their interest and commitments to grow vegetables. The women group will be trained on the techniques of vegetable farming, maintenance of greenhouse, distribution of vegetables to households directly participating in the project and selling the surplus to the nearby market. The women will be educated on child and maternal health, hygiene and nutrition also be oriented on cooking techniques considering the nutrition value of food. The women group will be further trained on vegetable processing and sale of surplus vegetables in the local market of Samagaun village to earn some cash income which will promote their economic empowerment.

 

The beneficiary households organized into mothers’ groups (Aama Samuha) will be educated on child and maternal health, hygiene and nutrition and will be supported to maintain health and hygiene of children and women.

 

 

 VEGETABLE GARDENING IN COLD-CLIMATE GREENHOUSES

 

The proposed model of greenhouse is cold climate greenhouse designed by NGO R.I.D.S Nepal and tested in Humla district having similar climatic conditions. The model once introduced in Humla during 1990s was widely replicated by the villagers across the district. The greenhouse, with an area of 4m wide x 6m long, is constructed of 80% of local materials, and made up of 45cm thick stone walls, and wooden beams to support the roof. In Humla model, 200-micron polypropylene plastic was used as roofing material. An innovation is proposed in the roofing material, and in place of polypropylene, polycarbonate corrugated plastic panels are proposed, which has benefits of providing optimum insulation to control heat loss and increased durability. The polycarbonate corrugated plastic panels installed at 40 degrees slope facing the sun can keep the snow off in the winter and allow maximum sunlight to enter the greenhouse. 

 

The innovation in design of a greenhouse and the choice of materials to construct a greenhouse plays an important role in ensuring its efficiency and effectiveness. The mud masonry stone-walls not only support the structure of the greenhouse but also provide insulating effect. Both the polycarbonate panels and mud-masonry stone walls keep the warmth inside at night and during the cold season, while cools the greenhouse when it is hot outside. Use of this technology extends the prevailing growing season from 4 to 7 months. Wooden doors and shutters are installed to keep warmth at night, and chicken wire doors and windows keep the air flowing within the greenhouse during daytime. The greenhouses if constructed at the back of a house, sharing the house wall, enables to save construction costs and time, and adds to heating the house.